Actions and Detail Panel


Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time



Online Event

Event description
TEDxSUMAS is an event part of the Ted Countdown, an initiative to champion solutions to the climate crisis. WE CAN CHANGE CLIMATE CHANGE!

About this Event

TEDxSUMAS is an independently organized TED event happening on the 23rd of January 2021 from 13:00 CET to 19:00 CET.

TEDxSUMAS is part of the TED Countdown global initiative, aimed at accelerating solutions to the climate crisis, turning ideas into action. It is a movement open to everyone – and everyone has a vital role to play.

Our goal is to bring together bright minds to give talks that are climate-focused, on a wide range of subjects, to foster learning, inspiration, and provoke conversations that matter.


The event will be accessible online for free.

Hosted by Shreya Ghodawat, Loïs Schotanus and Paola Vinci


13:00-13:50: What and who is sustainability for? - Shreya Ghodawat

Alessandro Armillotta

Ana Maria Montero

Juliet Kinsman

Jemilah - Music

13:50-14:40: Translating sustainability into action - Loïs Schotanus

Gunter Pauli

Oscar di Montigny

Svetlana Baurens

is.a.wolf - Live drawing

14:40-15:40: Actors of change - examples of sustainable innovation - Loïs Schotanus

Tom Bosschaert

Stéphanie Bretonniere

Chris Jones

Merijn Everaarts

Laura-Maria Schobert - Positive psychology

15:40-16:25: Actors of change - transforming the fashion industry - Paola Vinci

Giulio Bonazzi

Silvia Vanni

Javier Goyeneche

Camelopard - Music

16:25-17:00: Actors of change - transforming the hospitality industry - Loïs Schotanus

André Harms

Willy Legrand

Amanda Ho

Diana Körner

17:00-18:00: Key takeaways and acknowledgements - Shreya Ghodawat

Virtual Apéro

More information about our speakers:

Alessandro Armillotta - CEO and Co-founder "AWorld"

Amanda Ho - Co-Founder at Regenerative Travel

Ana Maria Montero - International TV, radio, and print journalist with 20 years of experience within the CNN family

Andre Harms - Professor at the Sustainability Management School (SUMAS) - Founder, director, and lead engineer of Ecolution Consulting

Chris Jones - Expert in sustainable urbanism, landscape architect founder of Feeding Cities

Diana Körner - Sustainable Tourism Consultant at Itandc

Giulio Bonazzi - Chairman and CEO Aquafil Group

Gunter Pauli - Author of "The Blue Economy", entrepreneur and pedagogue

Javier Goyeneche - Founder and President of ECOALF

Juliet Kinsman - Sustainable luxury travel expert BOUTECO, sustainability editor, Condé Nast Traveller, founding editor Mr & Mrs. Smith

Merijn Everaarts - Founder of Dopper

Oscar Di Montigny - Spherical Economy concept, Author, Chief Innovation, Sustainability & Value Strategy Officer at Banca Mediolanum, Founder and President at BYE (BeYourEssence)

Stéphanie Bretonniere - Founder and CEO of WE IMPACT.WORLD, Host of Econology Podcast and Member of the Experts of the World Economic Forum

Svetlana Baurens - Founder and Managing Director of Impact Investing School, Co-Founder and President of Galileo International Impact Investing Centre, and Board Member of SIIA ( Swiss Impact Investment Association)

Silvia Vanni - Founder and CEO of ShareMyBag

Tom Bosschaert - Founder and Director of Except

Willy LeGrand - Author, Senior Partner at Audit Diagnostic Solutions Tourism (ADST), Verifier for the Pledge on Food Waste, and Professor of Hospitality Management

The focus will be on the Areas:

HospitalityFashion Cities, Communities and Tech Agrifood Lifestyle, Society, Nature

At the end of each session, you will be entertained by artists like Jemilah Music, Camelopard, and Laura Maria Schobert. They will spread music, art, and some positive psychology during a meditation break!

The event will be completely in English.

Once registered, you will receive a link to access the event (hosted on RunTheWorld) online a few days before TEDxSUMAS!

TEDxSUMAS is brought to you and put together by Shreya Ghodawat, Loïs Schotanus, Paola Vinci, Estelle Flammang, Isaac Van der Ark, Michael Hugentobler, Ivan Maura, Ramón Barbier, Ségolène Latourette de Donno, Rossella Meo, Moritz Blumhagen, Anastasia Toivonen, Dipti Paryani and Anita Urassa.

Share with friends

Date and Time


Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved